Luther Bible

Luther Bible, Wittenberg, 1550. Frontispiece engraving. International Museum of the Reformation, Geneva.

 

 

This Luther Bible, published in Wittenberg in 1550 (the first edition appeared in 1534), recently joined the Museum’s collection. This large volume has an especially fine period binding, beautifully decorated with a great variety of motifs.

The frontispiece engraving represents scenes from the Old and New Testaments in a composition designed to establish a contrast between the two. The visual plane is divided by a tree at the centre. On the left, the Law is depicted as it appears in the Old Testament; for example, Adam and Eve are shown eating the fruit of the tree of life after being tempted by the serpent.

In opposition to the severity of the Law, the Gospel brings hope, as illustrated by the flowering boughs that spring from the tree trunk on the right, or New Testament, side. The resurrected Christ overcomes death and the devil. Thus Christ is victorious over the diabolical beast in contrast to Adam and Eve, who are vanquished by the serpent.

This composition – one of the most effective doctrinal images to issue from the school of Lukas Cranach the Elder – became one of the most popular themes of the Reformation. It may have been directly inspired by Luther’s lecture on the topic of the Law and the Gospel. Hence, it became an obvious choice for illustrations of several editions of the Bible, including the title page of Luther’s translation of the Bible that appears in this volume.

Lutherbibel

Lutherbibel, Wittenberg, 1550. Frontispiz-Kupferstich. Internationales Museum der Reformation, Genf.

 

 

Diese 1550 in Wittenberg gedruckte Lutherbibel (die erste Ausgabe erschien 1534) ist seit kurzem in einem der Räume des MIR zu bewundern. Das grossformatige Werk wird von einem prachtvollen Einband mit vielfältigen Motiven geschützt.

Der Kupferstich auf dem Frontispiz nimmt Szenen aus dem Alten und Neuen Testament in einer antithetischen Darstellung auf: Die Bildfläche ist in der Mitte durch einen Baum geteilt. Die linke Seite stellt das Gesetz dar, wie es im Alten Testament beschrieben ist. So essen beispielsweise Adam und Eva die Frucht vom Baum des Lebens, nachdem die Schlange sie verführt hat.

Im Kontrast zu dieser Härte des Gesetzes steht das Evangelium, das die Hoffnung verkündet. Das versinnbildlichen die blühenden Äste rechts des Baumstamms, auf der Seite des Neuen Testaments. Hier vernichtet der auferstandene Christus Tod und Teufel: Wo Adam und Eva noch von der Schlange verdorben wurden, triumphiert er jetzt über die dämonische Bestie.

Diese Gegenüberstellung – eine der einprägsamsten doktrinalen Abbildungen aus der Schule des Malers Lucas Cranach des Älteren – entwickelte sich zu einem der beliebtesten Sujets der Reformation. Womöglich entstammte es direkt an einem Vortrag Luthers zum Thema Gesetz und Evangelium. Es war daher nur logisch, die Bibel damit zu bebildern, und erst recht die Titelseite der Bibel in ihrer Übersetzung durch Luther, wie im Falle dieses Exponats.