>

THE INTERNATIONAL MUSEUM OF THE REFORMATION IS CLOSED FOR TRANSFORMATION

Letter from John Calvin to Guillaume Farel

Among many exceptional documents, the MIR presents this important letter in Latin, written by Calvin in Strasburg and addressed to Guillaume Farel on July 14th, 1545. Calvin asks Farel to agree to join the service of the Church of Geneva, to relieve him from part of his important workload and allow him to find time to write.

He then mentions an intervention made in Bern on behalf of the Waldensians of Provence, the latter having been pursued and persecuted in Mérindol and Cabrières in April of the same year. Finally, Calvin mentioned the purchase of a silk coat for Farel’s brother.

In the postscript, he also mentions the preparation of an indictment against Pierre Caroli (1480 – after 1545). The latter had accused Farel and Calvin of Arianism and had attacked them in a recently published work. In August 1545, Calvin responded to this attack in a “Defence of Farel and his colleagues against the slanders of Pierre Caroli”.

 

John Calvin (1509-1564), Letter to Guillaume Farel, Strasbourg, July 14, 1545.
©Musée historique de la Réformation, Geneva, exhibited at the MIR, Geneva.

>

DAS INTERNATIONALE MUSEUM DER REFORMATION IST WEGEN UMBAUARBEITEN GESCHLOSSEN

Brief von Johannes Calvin an Guillaume Farel

Unter vielen anderen herausragenden Dokumenten ist im MIR dieser bedeutsame Brief aus Calvins Feder an Guillaume Farel zu sehen, geschrieben am 14. Juli 1545 in Strassburg, in lateinischer Sprache. Der Autor bittet Farel darum, in den Dienst der Genfer Kirche treten zu dürfen, um etwas Entlastung und Zeit zum Schreiben zu finden.

Anschliessend äussert er sich zu einer Intervention in Bern im Namen der Waldenser der Provence, die im April desselben Jahres in Mérindol und Cabrières bedrängt und verfolgt wurden. Schliesslich erwähnt Calvin den Kauf eines Seidenmantels für Farels Bruder.

Im Postskriptum erinnert er noch an die Vorbereitung einer Anklageschrift gegen Pierre Caroli (1480 – nach 1545). Letzterer hatte Farel und Calvin des Arianismus beschuldigt und sie in einem kürzlich veröffentlichten Werk angegriffen. Im August 1545 reagierte Calvin auf diesen Angriff mit einer “Verteidigung von Farel und seinen Kollegen gegen die Verleumdungen des Pierre Caroli”.

 

Jean Calvin (1509-1564), Brief an Guillaume Farel, Strassburg, 14. Juli 1545.
©Musée historique de la Réformation, Genf, ausgestellt im MIR, Genf.