VISIT THE MIR IN COMPLETE SAFETY

thanks to the protection plan put in place (in French).

Plan de protection

A Collection of founding texts of the Reformation

14 prestigious testimonies of the beginnings of the Reformation

This collection on display at the MIR contains 14 independent works within a single binding. Printed in Latin, they all are original editions. Seven appeared in 1520, three in 1521, one in 1522 and three in 1523.

The 660-page work brings together nine authors: Martin Luther (40% of the texts), Ulrich Zwingli, Philipp Melanchthon and Leo X are featured among many others. Two fundamental texts to the beginnings of the Reformation are featured in this volume: Martin Luther’s Treatise On Christian Liberty and the Prelude On the Babylonian Captivity of the Church, as well as an edition of the Papal Bull of Excommunication by Leo X along with a commentary by a disciple of the Reformer from Wittenberg.

Featuring major texts by Melanchthon and two writings by Zwingli, this collection brings together major testimonies of that era, when the Reformation evolved from an revolt within the Church to the creation of a new Church.

In order to make the most of the resources contained in this unique book, the MIR designed a specific Ipad that visitors can use to virtually flip through the many pages of the volume, read some of the translated passages, learn about the contents of the texts, or listen for the three-minute presentation by Professor Pierre Bühler, one of the leading experts on Luther and the beginnings of the Reformation.

>

BESICHTIGEN SIE DAS MIR IN VÖLLIGER SICHERHEIT

dank des eingeführten Schutzplans.

DAS TRAGEN EINER MASKE IST OBLIGATORISCH.

Schutzplan

Sammlung von Gründungstexten der Reformation

14 wertvolle Textzeugnisse aus den Anfängen der Reformation

Diese im MIR ausgestellte Textsammlung vereint in einem Band 14 Einzelwerke, alles Erstausgaben in lateinischer Sprache. Sieben wurden im Jahr 1520 veröffentlicht, drei 1521, eine 1522 und drei 1523.

Auf den 660 Seiten sind neun Autoren vereint, darunter Martin Luther (40% der Texte), Huldrych Zwingli, Philipp Melanchthon und Papst Leo X. Der Band enthält namentlich zwei zentrale Texte aus der Frühzeit der Reformation: Von Martin Luther den Sendbrief Von der Freiheit eines Christenmenschen und De captivitate Babylonica ecclesiae praeludium (Von der Babylonischen Gefangenschaft der Kirche, Vorspiel), und eine Ausgabe der päpstlichen Bannbulle mit dem Kommentar eines Anhängers des Wittenberger Reformators.

Dazu kommen bedeutende Texte Melanchthons und zwei Schriften von Zwingli. Insgesamt ist  die Sammlung ein unschätzbares Zeugnis dieses Zeitabschnitts, in dem die Reformation von einer innerkirchlichen Revolte zum Gestaltungsprozess für eine neue Kirche wird.

Um dem Besucher dieses einmalige Werk optimal zugänglich zu machen, wurde eine digitale iPad-Version davon erstellt: Hier kann man virtuell durch viele Seiten des Bandes blättern, nach übersetzten Textstellen suchen, den Inhalt der Texte abfragen oder die drei Minuten Erläuterungen von Prof. Pierre Bühler, einem führenden Spezialisten für Luthers Theologie und die frühe Reformation, anhören. (Französisch).