>

PUBLIC CLOSURE

Due to coronavirus health measures, MIR is closed to the public until further notice.

The Salon : Aboard the Mayflower

Hop on the emblematic boat that crossed the Atlantic in 1620, and join the first Pilgrim Fathers of America. This unforgettable virtual reality experience was designed by Artanim.

For the duration of the exhibition “CALVIN IN AMERICA”, the Salon hosts the virtual reality experience designed by Artanim: for 5 minutes, visitors are invited on board the ship that crossed the Atlantic in 1620.

In November 1620, shortly before disembarking from the Mayflower that transported them from Europe to the shores of North America, Orthodox Calvinists signed a mutual assistance agreement with the rest of the crew and passengers.

This treaty, the Mayflower Compact, is considered to be the first political agreement in the history of the United States. Its signature is depicted in bas-relief on Geneva’s Reformation Monument.

A virtual reality experience allows visitors to witness this key moment. A headset allows visitors to travel from the bas-relief to the Mayflower, where they witness the signing of the famous treaty. Finally, they get to see the first Mayflower settlers land in America from the deck of the ship.

Rooms

>

RÉOUVERTURE SAMEDI 28 NOVEMBRE À 10H00.

Visitez le MIR en toute sécurité grâce au plan de protection mis en place.

Plan de protection

Le Salon : A bord du Mayflower

Durant l’exposition «CALVIN EN AMÉRIQUE», le grand Salon accueille le dispositif de réalité virtuelle conçue par la société Artanim : Pendant 5 minutes, le public est invité à embarquer sur le bateau qui a traversé l’Atlantique en 1620.

En novembre 1620 peu avant de débarquer du Mayflower qui les a amenés depuis l’Europe aux abords des côtes de l’Amérique du Nord, des calvinistes orthodoxes ont signé un accord d’assistance mutuelle avec le reste de l’équipage et des passagers.

Ce traité, le Mayflower Compact, est considéré comme le premier acte politique de l’histoire des Etats-Unis. Sa signature est représentée en bas-relief sur le Mur des Réformateurs à Genève.

Une expérience virtuelle permet de vivre en direct ce moment fondateur. Après s’être coiffé d’un casque, le visiteur voyage depuis le bas-relief vers l’entrepont du Mayflower où il assiste à la signature du fameux traité. Puis, installé sur le pont du bateau, il assiste en direct à la première phase du débarquement sur la côte des premiers colons des Etats-Unis.

 

Les salles