Luther Bible

Luther Bible, Wittenberg, 1550. Frontispiece engraving. International Museum of the Reformation, Geneva.

 

 

This Luther Bible, published in Wittenberg in 1550 (the first edition appeared in 1534), recently joined the Museum’s collection. This large volume has an especially fine period binding, beautifully decorated with a great variety of motifs.

The frontispiece engraving represents scenes from the Old and New Testaments in a composition designed to establish a contrast between the two. The visual plane is divided by a tree at the centre. On the left, the Law is depicted as it appears in the Old Testament; for example, Adam and Eve are shown eating the fruit of the tree of life after being tempted by the serpent.

In opposition to the severity of the Law, the Gospel brings hope, as illustrated by the flowering boughs that spring from the tree trunk on the right, or New Testament, side. The resurrected Christ overcomes death and the devil. Thus Christ is victorious over the diabolical beast in contrast to Adam and Eve, who are vanquished by the serpent.

This composition – one of the most effective doctrinal images to issue from the school of Lukas Cranach the Elder – became one of the most popular themes of the Reformation. It may have been directly inspired by Luther’s lecture on the topic of the Law and the Gospel. Hence, it became an obvious choice for illustrations of several editions of the Bible, including the title page of Luther’s translation of the Bible that appears in this volume.

Bible de Luther

Cette Bible de Martin Luther, imprimée à Wittenberg en 1550 (la première édition parut en 1534), a pris place il y a peu dans une salle du MIR. De grand format, elle se trouve dans une splendide reliure d’époque comportant plusieurs motifs.

La gravure de frontispice représente diverses scènes de l’Ancien et du Nouveau Testament disposées selon le schéma de l’antithèse : l’espace visuel est divisé, au centre, par un arbre. À la gauche de ce dernier, la Loi est dépeinte comme exposée dans l’Ancien Testament ; par exemple, Adam et Eve mangent le fruit de l’arbre de vie après avoir été tentés par le serpent.

En opposition à la sévérité de la Loi, l’Evangile apporte l’espérance, comme l’illustrent les branches florissantes à la droite du tronc, du côté du Nouveau Testament. Par exemple, le Christ ressuscité anéantit la mort et le diable; en contraste avec Adam et Eve, vaincus par le serpent, c’est désormais lui qui triomphe de la bête diabolique.

Cette composition – l’une des représentations doctrinales les plus efficaces de l’école de l’artiste Lucas Cranach l’Ancien – devint l’un des thèmes les plus populaires de la Réforme. Il se pourrait qu’elle ait été directement inspirée par une présentation de Luther sur le thème de la Loi et de l’Evangile. Il s’agissait donc d’un choix naturel pour illustrer les éditions de la Bible, notamment la page de titre de la Bible dans sa traduction par Luther, comme c’est le cas de notre exemplaire.

Bible de Luther, Wittemberg, 1550. Gravure de frontispice.
Musée international de la Réforme, Genève.