>

Visit the MIR in complete safety thanks to the protection plan put in place (in French).

WELCOME !

Protection Plan

Letter from Henry III of France to Nicolas de Harlay

The MIR is lucky to have in its collections this exceptional letter signed by King Henry III of France (1551-1589), dated 22 April 1589. It was addressed to politician and diplomat Nicolas de Harlay (1546-1629), lord of Sancy. The document gives us a glimpse of the context of the eighth and last religious war in France in the 16th century. The King, anxious to curb the expansion of the Catholic League, is struggling to keep them under control, while the Catholics accuse him of being weak in the fight against the Protestants. The Duke of Guise, the League’s main leader, was executed on his orders, while other League leaders were arrested.

In this letter, King Henry ordered Sancy to raise troops against the League – including Swiss troops, famous for their military prowess. Indeed, he intends to “employ the people of war, both the Swiss and the others, who will be in the army against our enemies who oppose their passage (…)”.

In order to raise this army and support the King, Sancy will pawn his famous diamond, the “Sancy”. A few months later, on August 1, 1589, King Henry will be the victim of an attack; stabbed by a Catholic Leaguer member, he will die the next day. He was to be succeeded by Henri de Navarre, who will reign under the name of Henry IV.

 

Henri III of France (1551-1589), Coin signed to Nicolas de Harlay, sieur de Sancy, April 22, 1589. Manuscript on vellum. International Museum of the Reformation, Geneva.

Pièce signée Henri III de France à Nicolas de Harlay

Henri III de France (1551-1589), Pièce signée à Nicolas de Harlay, sieur de Sancy, 22 avril 1589. Manuscrit sur velin.
Musée international de la Réforme, Genève.

 

Le MIR possède, dans sa collection, cette exceptionnelle lettre signée du roi Henri III de France (1551-1589),  datée du 22 avril 1589. Son destinataire est l’homme politique et diplomate Nicolas de Harlay (1546-1629), sieur de Sancy. Le document illustre le contexte de la huitième et dernière guerre de religion en France au XVIe siècle. Le roi s’est engagé dans une lutte contre la Ligue catholique, soucieux de freiner l’expansion de cette dernière, alors que les catholiques l’accusent de faiblesse dans le combat avec les protestants. Le duc de Guise, chef principal de la Ligue, a été exécuté sur ses ordres tandis que d’autres chefs ligueurs ont été arrêtés.

Ici, Henri III ordonne à Sancy de lever des troupes contre la Ligue – et notamment des Suisses, réputés pour leurs qualités militaires. Il compte en effet « emploier les gens de guerre tant Suysses que aultres qui seront en lad armée contre noz ennemys qui se vouldroient opposer a leur passage (…) ».

Afin de lever cette armée et de soutenir le roi, Sancy mettra en gage son fameux diamant, « le Sancy ». Quelques mois plus tard, le 1er août 1589, Henri III sera victime d’un attentat ; poignardé par un ligueur, il mourra de sa blessure, le lendemain. Lui succédera Henri de Navarre, sous le nom d’Henri IV.