VISIT THE MIR IN COMPLETE SAFETY

thanks to the protection plan put in place (in French).

Plan de protection

A Collection of founding texts of the Reformation

14 prestigious testimonies of the beginnings of the Reformation

This collection on display at the MIR contains 14 independent works within a single binding. Printed in Latin, they all are original editions. Seven appeared in 1520, three in 1521, one in 1522 and three in 1523.

The 660-page work brings together nine authors: Martin Luther (40% of the texts), Ulrich Zwingli, Philipp Melanchthon and Leo X are featured among many others. Two fundamental texts to the beginnings of the Reformation are featured in this volume: Martin Luther’s Treatise On Christian Liberty and the Prelude On the Babylonian Captivity of the Church, as well as an edition of the Papal Bull of Excommunication by Leo X along with a commentary by a disciple of the Reformer from Wittenberg.

Featuring major texts by Melanchthon and two writings by Zwingli, this collection brings together major testimonies of that era, when the Reformation evolved from an revolt within the Church to the creation of a new Church.

In order to make the most of the resources contained in this unique book, the MIR designed a specific Ipad that visitors can use to virtually flip through the many pages of the volume, read some of the translated passages, learn about the contents of the texts, or listen for the three-minute presentation by Professor Pierre Bühler, one of the leading experts on Luther and the beginnings of the Reformation.

Lundi 21 septembre, journée du Jeûne Fédéral, le Musée est ouvert de 10h à 17h.

 

VISITEZ LE MIR EN TOUTE SÉCURITÉ

grâce au plan de protection mis en place.

Plan de protection

Recueil de textes fondateurs de la Réforme

14 témoignages prestigieux des débuts de la Réforme

 

Ce recueil exposé au MIR contient 14 ouvrages indépendants réunis sous une même reliure. Imprimés en latin, ce sont tous de premières éditions. Sept ont paru en 1520, trois en 1521, un en 1522 et trois en 1523.

L’ouvrage de 660 pages regroupe neuf auteurs. Parmi eux Martin Luther (40% des textes), Ulrich Zwingli, Philipp Melanchthon et Léon X. Deux textes fondamentaux des débuts de la Réforme sont présents dans ce volume : Le Traité de la Liberté chrétienne et le Prélude à la Captivité babylonienne de l’Eglise de Martin Luther, ainsi qu’une édition de la Bulle d’excommunication de Léon X commentée par un fidèle du Réformateur de Wittenberg.

Avec la présence de textes importants de Melanchthon et celle de deux écrits de Zwingli, ce recueil rassemble des témoignages majeurs de cette période où la Réforme passe d’une révolte intérieure à l’invention d’une nouvelle Eglise.

Pour pouvoir profiter au mieux des ressources de ce livre unique, un iPad de consultation a été conçu. On peut feuilleter virtuellement de nombreuses pages du volume, retrouver certains passages traduits, se renseigner sur les contenus des textes ou entendre pendant trois minutes les explications du Professeur Pierre Bühler, l’un des meilleurs spécialistes de la pensée de Luther et des débuts de la Réforme.

Lire l’article du 7 septembre 2020 dans Le Temps