Temple of Lyon called “Paradis”

 

Jean Perrissin, Le Temple de Paradis, v. 1565.
©Bibliothèque de Genève, exposé au MIR, Genève

 

The painting of the Temple of Lyon called “Paradis” in the Bible room is one of the most remarkable items of the Museum. The painter, one of the leading 16th century Reformed artists, included many fascinating details.

The dog is a familiar figure in Protestant engravings, so it comes as no surprise that man’s best friend was included in the painting of the Temple de Paradis exhibited at the MIR. It is thought that the dog symbolises loyalty, the cardinal virtue of the Reformation, but the presence in the Temple of an animal that is considered impure could also emphasise that the church, in a Protestant perspective, is not a sacred building.

This painting was probably created by Jean Perrissin, who is also the author of various engravings also exhibited at the MIR in the Barbier-Mueller room, featured in “Forty Paintings or Various Histories Concerning the Wars, Massacres and Troubles that Occurred in France…“. The Temple de Paradis may have been painted a little while after its destruction. Built in 1564 in Lyon, it was demolished three years later as the religious wars resumed in France.

This painting is one of the very few visual testimonies from the early days of the Reformation in France. This is the oldest representation of a Protestant temple. It is highly different from Catholic buildings: the architecture is designed to help the faithful listen to the pastor who is featured in his pulpit in the centre of the painting. A small hourglass on his right is here to remind him that he must soon end his preaching! The faithful who surround him move about freely throughout the building. Men – some of them carrying swords –  women, children come in, go out,  chat…About fifty in all, immortalised in various attitudes underlining the diversity of the community.

Nevertheless, there is a sense of social hierarchy: some parishioners enjoy the comfort of a proper chair with a backrest, while others have to sit on uncomfortable wooden boards. As for the women, they sit in what seems to be a specific area, just as children who are sitting with an open book on their knees, perhaps a catechism or a psalter.

It is not clear what ceremony is taking place in the Temple. It could be a wedding, as indicated by the characters placed a little behind the pulpit, or a baptism, with the arrival on the left of a couple carrying an ewer (a tin container filled with water) and a towel. But the child to be baptised is nowhere to be seen! Or perhaps it is the couple sitting in front of the pulpit that is about to be baptised? This would not be a strong hypothesis because Anabaptism was not a topical issue in Lyon at that time.

The presence of fleurs-de-lis (stylised lilies that served as emblem to the French crown), alluding to power and royalty, are featured on both the gallery and the backs of a few benches. Jean Perrissin, who was a Protestant, probably wanted to explicitly recall that the Reformation had no political objective and was loyal to the King of France.

“We do not cease to pray to God for your prosperity and that of your kingdom,” wrote John Calvin in his Epistle to King Francis I, which was the introduction to the first edition of the Institutes of the Christian Religion, which is also on display at the Museum.

This painting of the Temple de Paradis, on loan from the Geneva Library, underlines the dual mission of the Reformers who were both translators and interpreters. It is rightly pointed out that one of the main achievements of the Reformation was to make Bible reading more accessible by promoting its translation into the vernacular languages of the time. But Reformers were quick to observe that these 1500-year-old texts had to be interpreted, to avoid selective readings that could lead to a number of slip-ups or initiatives that were more revolutionary than reformed, such as the destruction of images in the name of the 2nd Commandment or trying to establish of the Kingdom of God on earth based on a radical reading of the Sermon on the Mount.

Reformers as important as Luther and Calvin very quickly understood the dangers of letting people read the Scriptures without guidance and adjustments. Founding universities as training centers in theology was very important to Reformers, who considered them to be remedies against an overly individualistic reading of the Bible.

From his pulpit, but summoned by the hourglass to take into account the concentration capacities of an audience that one feels has slightly dissipated, the Reformed pastor explains the Bible and proclaims its truth,  based on his interpretations impacted by the ideas of his time. The painting of the Temple de Paradis helps understand how important it was in Reformed Christianity to spread Scriptural messages as widely as possible, even to dogs “who eat the crumbs that fall from their masters’ table” (Matthew 15:27).

Le Temple de Paradis

Le tableau du Temple de Lyon nommé Paradis accroché dans la salle de la Bible est une des pièces les plus remarquables du Musée. Petit décryptage à propos d’un certain nombre de détails croqués ici par l’un des principaux peintres du 16e siècle réformé.

Le chien est un habitué des gravures protestantes. Le meilleur ami de l’homme figure ainsi dans le tableau représentant le Temple de Paradis exposé au MIR. On pense que le chien symbolise la fidélité, valeur cardinale de la Réforme, mais sa présence dans le Temple pourrait aussi indiquer que l’église, en régime protestant, est désormais désacralisée, cet animal étant souvent associé à l’impureté.

Ce tableau a été vraisemblablement réalisé par Jean Perrissin, l’un des auteurs de gravures également exposées au MIR dans la Salle Barbier Mueller, tirées des «Quarante tableaux ou Histoires diverses touchant les Guerres, Massacres et Troubles advenus en France…». Le tableau du Temple de Paradis pourrait avoir été exécuté quelque temps après sa destruction. Construit en 1564 à Lyon, il est démoli trois ans plus tard au moment de la reprise des guerres de religions en France.

Ce tableau est un des rares témoignages visuels des premiers temps de la Réforme en France. Il s’agit de la plus ancienne représentation d’un temple protestant. On observe une différence foncière d’avec les édifices catholiques. L’architecture est conçue pour faciliter l’écoute du pasteur que l’on voit installé dans sa chaire au centre de l’image. Un petit sablier sur sa droite doit l’avertir qu’il doit bientôt achever sa prédication. Les fidèles qui l’entourent se répartissent très librement dans le bâtiment. On entre, on sort, on discute, on se découvre, il y a des enfants, des femmes, des hommes portant l’épée, d’autres pas, une cinquantaine de fidèles en tout, croqués dans diverses attitudes donnant à souligner une certaine mixité de la communauté ecclésiale.

On y perçoit néanmoins les termes d’une hiérarchie sociale puisque certains paroissiens peuvent s’appuyer contre un dossier alors que d’autres doivent tenir en équilibre sur des planches de bois peu confortables. Quant aux femmes, elles sont regroupées au même endroit, ainsi que quelques enfants que l’on voit un livre ouvert sur les genoux, un catéchisme peut-être ou un psautier.

On ne sait pas très bien quelle cérémonie se déroule dans le Temple. Il pourrait s’agir d’un mariage, si l’on observe les deux personnages placés un peu en retrait sous la chaire, ou alors ce peut être un baptême qui se prépare avec l’arrivée sur la gauche d’un couple portant une aiguière (sorte de récipient en étain rempli d’eau) et une serviette. Mais l’enfant n’est pas visible, ou alors il s’agirait de baptiser le couple au pied de la chaire, hypothèse fragile car l’anabaptisme en régime réformé n’est alors pas d’actualité à Lyon en ce temps-là.

On est aussi frappé d’observer à la fois sur la galerie et les dossiers de quelques bancs la présence de fleurs de lys qui évoquent la royauté et le pouvoir. Jean Perrissin, qui était protestant, a vraisemblablement voulu explicitement rappeler que la Réforme ne visait aucun objectif politique.

« Nous n’arrêtons pas de prier Dieu pour votre prospérité et celle de votre règne», écrivait Jean Calvin dans son Epître au Roi François Ier qui introduit la première édition de l’Institution de la religion chrétienne, elle-aussi exposée au Musée.

Ce tableau représentant le Temple de Paradis, accroché sur les murs du MIR grâce à la générosité de la Bibliothèque de Genève qui le prête au Musée, souligne la double vocation des Réformateurs qui furent à la fois traducteurs et interprètes. On souligne à juste titre que l’un des principaux acquis de la Réforme fut d’avoir démocratisé la lecture de la Bible en favorisant sa traduction dans les langues vernaculaires de l’époque. Mais on observa rapidement du côté des Réformateurs que ces textes vieux de 1500 ans devaient être interprétés et dialoguer les uns avec les autres, faute de quoi des lectures sélectives pouvaient provoquer un certain nombre de dérapages ou des initiatives plus révolutionnaires que réformées, comme les destructions d’images au nom du 2e commandement ou l’instauration du Royaume de Dieu sur terre à partir d’une lecture sans recul du Sermon sur la Montagne.

Des Réformateurs aussi importants que Luther et Calvin comprirent très vite les dangers d’une lecture laissée sans un certain nombre de guide et d’adaptations. Il faut comprendre le développement de l’Université et de la théologie dont ils furent des indéfectibles avocats, comme des remèdes administrés contre un usage trop individualiste de la lecture biblique.

Du haut de sa chaire, mais sommé par le sablier de tenir compte des capacités de concentration d’un public que l’on sent légèrement dissipé, le pasteur réformé explique la Bible et proclame sa vérité à partir des interprétations qu’il a développées pour l’adapter à la culture de son temps. Le tableau du Temple dit du Paradis est une clé qui ouvre à la compréhension de la geste réformée consistant à diffuser le plus largement les vérités bibliques, jusqu’aux chiens «qui mangent les miettes tombant de la table de leurs maîtres » (Matthieu 15,27).

Jean Perrissin, Le Temple de Paradis, v. 1565.
©Bibliothèque de Genève, exposé au MIR, Genève