Saturday March 2nd 2024 : Open 10am - 5pm

Treasures

Report from Jean Calvin to the authorities on the suicide of Jean Vachat

Share this page on social networks:
Prepare your visit Ticketing Future event

Next free guided tour

Every last Sunday of the month, MIR offers a guided tour! Next date: March 17, 2024 Discover ...

Registration
All events

Here is a document in the handwriting of John Calvin, dated January 23, 1545, reporting to the Geneva authorities an event that occurred the day before.

On January 22, 1545 in Geneva, an unfortunate man named Jean Vachat stabbed himself twice in the stomach. Calvin recounts having been called to the bedside of the dying man and having, not without remonstrating with him, questioned the latter on the reasons for his action, encouraged Vachat to repent, to surrender to the grace of God, as well as to accept the care of a surgeon. Jean Vachat died the same day as a result of his injury.

This is the only handwritten document by Calvin addressing the issue of suicide, a serious act relevant to criminal justice since considered, at the time, as a crime against the individual, society and God. The police lieutenant in charge of the case refused, moreover – and in accordance with the customs of the time, that Jean Vachat be buried with a Christian burial.

This letter is exceptional in that it shows the human side of John Calvin finding himself faced with the reality of despair, of man facing the suffering of another individual. We thus discover another face of the reformer, not without contrast with the image of Calvin generally described as a man of great severity.



John Calvin (1509-1564)
Report to the authorities on the suicide of Jean Vachat, January 23, 1545

© International Museum of the Reformation (MIR), Geneva

Return to collection

Vendredi 19 Juillet 2024 : Ouvert 10H00-17H00

Trésors

Rapport de Jean Calvin aux autorités sur le suicide de Jean Vachat

Partager cette page sur les réseaux sociaux :
Préparez votre visite Billetterie Événement à venir

Un siècle autour de Dieu

Un siècle autour de Dieu Table Ronde à l’occasion des 100 ans des Éditions Labor et Fides Jeu...

Inscription
Tous les événements

Voici un document de la main de Jean Calvin, daté du 23 janvier 1545, faisant rapport aux autorités genevoises d’un événement survenu la veille.

Le 22 janvier 1545 à Genève, un malheureux du nom de Jean Vachat se plante deux coups de couteau dans le ventre. Calvin raconte avoir été appelé au chevet du mourant et avoir, non sans lui faire des remontrances, interrogé ce dernier sur les raisons de son geste, encouragé Vachat à se repentir, à se remettre à la grâce de Dieu, ainsi qu’à accepter les soins d’un chirurgien. Jean Vachat meurt le jour même, des suites de sa blessure.

Il s’agit du seul document manuscrit de Calvin faisant état de la question du suicide, un acte grave relevant de la justice pénale puisque considéré, à l’époque, comme un crime à la fois contre l’individu, la société et Dieu. Le lieutenant de police en charge de l’affaire refusera, d’ailleurs – et conformément aux coutumes d’alors, que Jean Vachat soit enterré avec une sépulture chrétienne.

Cette lettre a cela d’exceptionnel, qu’elle donne à voir le côté humain d’un Jean Calvin se trouvant face à la réalité du désespoir, de l’homme face à la souffrance d’un autre individu. On découvre ainsi un autre visage du réformateur, non sans contraste avec l’image du Calvin généralement décrit comme un homme d’une grande sévérité.



Jean Calvin (1509-1564)
Rapport aux autorités sur le suicide de Jean Vachat, 23 janvier 1545

© Musée international de la Réforme (MIR), Genève

Retour à la collection