Saturday March 2nd 2024 : Open 10am - 5pm

Treasures

Report from Jean Calvin to the authorities on the suicide of Jean Vachat

Share this page on social networks:
Prepare your visit Ticketing Future event

Next free guided tour

Every last Sunday of the month, MIR offers a guided tour! Next date: March 17, 2024 Discover ...

Registration
All events

Here is a document in the handwriting of John Calvin, dated January 23, 1545, reporting to the Geneva authorities an event that occurred the day before.

On January 22, 1545 in Geneva, an unfortunate man named Jean Vachat stabbed himself twice in the stomach. Calvin recounts having been called to the bedside of the dying man and having, not without remonstrating with him, questioned the latter on the reasons for his action, encouraged Vachat to repent, to surrender to the grace of God, as well as to accept the care of a surgeon. Jean Vachat died the same day as a result of his injury.

This is the only handwritten document by Calvin addressing the issue of suicide, a serious act relevant to criminal justice since considered, at the time, as a crime against the individual, society and God. The police lieutenant in charge of the case refused, moreover – and in accordance with the customs of the time, that Jean Vachat be buried with a Christian burial.

This letter is exceptional in that it shows the human side of John Calvin finding himself faced with the reality of despair, of man facing the suffering of another individual. We thus discover another face of the reformer, not without contrast with the image of Calvin generally described as a man of great severity.



John Calvin (1509-1564)
Report to the authorities on the suicide of Jean Vachat, January 23, 1545

© International Museum of the Reformation (MIR), Geneva

Return to collection

Dienstag 21 Mai 2024 : Geöffnet von 10:00 – 17:00 Uhr.

Tresoren

Bericht von Jean Calvin an die Behörden über den Selbstmord von Jean Vachat

Teilen Sie diese Seite in sozialen Netzwerken:
Bereiten Sie Ihren Besuch vor Ticketverkauf Zukünftiges Ereignis Ferdinand Hodler, L’Unanimité © Musée d'art et d'histoire de Genève, photo: Y. Siza

Über die Beziehung des Protestantismus zur Demokratie

Donnerstag, 2. Mai, Internationales Reformationsmuseum, 18.30 Uhr Hätte der reformierte Protesta...

Registrierung
Alle Ereignisse

Ein Schreiben aus der Feder von Johannes Calvin vom 23. Januar 1545, in dem er den Genfer Behörden über ein Ereignis vom Vortag berichtet.

Am 22. Januar 1545 erdolcht sich in Genf ein unglücklicher Mann namens Jean Vachat mit zwei Stichen in den Bauch. Calvin berichtet, er sei an das Bett des Sterbenden gerufen worden und habe ihn, nicht ohne ihn zu tadeln, nach den Gründen für seine Tat gefragt, ihn ermutigt, Reue zu zeigen, sich in Gottes Gnade zu begeben und die Fürsorge eines Chirurgen anzunehmen. Jean Vachat stirbt noch am selben Tag an den Folgen seiner Verletzungen.

Es ist das einzige überlieferte handschriftliche Dokument Calvins zum Thema Suizid, eine schwere Straftat, da Selbstmord damals als Verbrechen gegen den Einzelnen, gegen die Gesellschaft und gegen Gott galt. Ganz im Sinne der herrschenden Gepflogenheiten lehnte es der mit dem Fall betraute Polizeileutnant im Übrigen ab, Jean Vachat christlich bestatten zu lassen..

Dieses Schreiben ist insofern außergewöhnlich, als es die menschliche Seite eines Johannes Calvin zeigt, der sich mit der Realität der Hoffnungslosigkeit konfrontiert sieht, mit dem verzweifelten Leid eines anderen Menschen. Er zeigt ein anderes Gesicht des Reformators, eher im Kontrast zum gängigen Bild Calvins, der allgemein als Mann von großer Strenge beschrieben wird.



Johannes Calvin (1509-1564)
Bericht an die Behörden über den Selbstmord von Jean Vachat, 23. Januar 1545

© Internationales Museum der Reformation (MIR), Genf

Zurück zur Sammlung